Integration of Ferroelectric and Piezoelectric Thin Films

Concepts and Applications for Microsystems

Integration of Ferroelectric and Piezoelectric Thin Films

Edited by

Emmanuel Defaÿ, CEA LETI Minatec, Grenoble, France

ISBN : 9781848212398

Publication Date : February 2011

Hardcover 432 pp

205.00 USD



This book contains all the necessary knowledge to enable a complete understanding of how piezoelectric and ferroelectric thin films work, providing the key to integrating them into Microsystems. Topics covered include: deposition methods, contamination, key processes, and characterization. The basic concepts are detailed within a framework of thermodynamics: ferro-para phase transition, strain-stress relations, dielectric formalism, piezoelectricity, electrostriction and acoustics. An extended part of this book is dedicated to state-of-the-art applications in all fields of microsystems.

A major aspect is the approach it takes to the topic: it starts with complete descriptions of piezo- and ferro-films from basic concepts, in each case maintaining two different perspectives: on the one hand, microscopic models, and on the other hand, thermodynamics.

A chapter is dedicated to electrostrictive thin films, with a special focus on tunable resonators - an area as yet unpublished in book form. The exhaustive material in this book certainly makes it one of the most complete works on this topic, especially concerning acoustic resonators.


1. Dielectricity, Piezoelectricity, Pyroelectricity and Ferroelectricity, Emmanuel Defaÿ.
2. Thermodynamic Study: a Structural Approach, Emmanuel Defaÿ.
3. Ferroelectric-paraelectric Phase Transition Thermodynamic Modeling, Emmanuel Defaÿ.
4. Mechanical Formalism, Emmanuel Defaÿ.
5. Dielectric Formalism, Emmanuel Defaÿ.
6. Piezoelectric Formalism, Emmanuel Defaÿ and Mathieu Pijolat.
7. Acoustic Formalism, Alexandre Reinhardt.
8. Electrostrictive Formalism, Emmanuel Defaÿ.
9. Electric Characterization, Emmanuel Defaÿ, Gwenaël Le Rhun and Emilien Bouyssou.
10. Piezoelectric Resonators and Filters, Alexandre Reinhardt and Christophe Billard.
11. High Overtone Bulk Acoustic Resonator (HBAR), Mathieu Pijolat, Chrystel Deguet and Sylvain Ballandras.
12. Electrostrictive Resonators, Alexandre Volatier, Brice Ivira, Christophe Zinck, Nizar Ben Hassine and Emmanuel Defaÿ.
13. Thin Film Piezoelectric Transducers, Matthieu Cueff, Patrice Rey, Fabien Filhol and Emmanuel Defaÿ.

About the authors/editors

Emmanuel Defaÿ is a Senior Researcher at CEA-LETI Minatec in Grenoble, France and currently gives seminars at INPG Grenoble, Ecole Centrale Lille and Lyon and is a lecturer at Ecole Centrale Paris covering new materials. He has been involved in the field of piezoelectric microsystems for more than 15 years. His activities are shared between academic and industrial projects. He has published more than 50 scientific papers and worked with several of the top microsystem and microelectronic manufacturers (IBM, Freescale, ST).

Related subject